The NaNo of WriMos Approacheth!

Who’s doing NaNoWrimo this month with me?! Get those hands up, y’all.

I could use some moral support, if I’m honest–since finishing my first major project a couple of weeks ago, I’ve been in a state of paralysis writing-wise. I have plenty of other projects to work on, but so far I haven’t been able to fully settle on one. The next book in the series I’ve started seems the obvious choice, and I’ve done some work on it already, but I’m hesitant to jump too deep into the second until I can get a good idea of what needs fixing in the first.

My completed novel jumps between several points of view pretty constantly, and now I find myself wanting to write a single, very close third voice story. Limited third has its own set of challenges, but jumping back and forth between POVs was so exhausting that now I can’t stomach the thought of cranking out another 50k-plus words in multiple perspectives. At least not right away, and not over the course of 30 days.

That leaves me with a couple options…that gaudy slice-of-life romance I’ll never admit to writing, the audacious Citizen-Kane-esque passion project I haven’t even begun to properly research, or re-vamping something so old and poorly-structured that I’ve long since given it up for dead.

If I wanted to procrastinate the next two days away, which I certainly feel no small desire to do, I suppose I could head over to the NaNo forums and put it to a vote…

2 thoughts on “The NaNo of WriMos Approacheth!

  1. Raney Simmon says:

    I’m doing NaNoWriMo this year. And if your unsure what you want to write about out of all those options, you could always be adventurous and create a whole new novel concept. Or if not, just go with your gut. What story do you feel like writing right now? That’s the story you should go with.

Leave a Reply

