The End of NaNoWriMo: Farewell, O Muse

Well, NaNoWriMo is officially over, my friends. I didn’t write as hard as I might have over the last month–I didn’t even get started until a few days late–but after a year of hitting crippling snags in morale and plot and then switching stories halfway through the month, it was just the boost I needed to get out of my slump. While I’m sad to say that I once again failed to meet the 50,000 word mark, I am proud of my effort just the same.

48k? Close Enough.

48k?

“A for Effort” isn’t always reassuring when it comes to the difference between a first place medal and a sportsmanship ribbon, but this time I’m making it work. They’re equally important sides of the same coin, in my experience: I’ve tried the whole Mind-On-Fire-artist bit, with the quest for satisfaction that never ends and the panicked search for identity within one’s own work, and I’ve found I’m a little too fragile for that nonsense. As is my own tentative grasp of what I’m trying to accomplish.

It was only last year that I began to think I could ever write as a living. I grew up being taught that a job was something you did with your hands–lots of heavy lifting, soul-crushing hamster-in-a-wheel customer service, or raising kids while a husband paid the bills and eventually began to wish he was rid of you–but after much shameless trawling for reassurance and even more false confidence, I’m starting to believe the would-be lie of writing as a career.

So, baby steps.

NaNo is always a good start, the kick in the pants for impetus–now I just need to hold onto that sense of a goal and not let the urge to write slip away with the holiday season approaching. I’m currently trying to adjust my sleeping schedule to allow for earlier rising-and-writing, although at the moment I’m writing this after going to sleep at 9PM and waking, fully alert, at 2 AM with the workin’ hour quickly approaching at 8.

The next step is tea. Lots of delicious, creamy-beige tea and perhaps a biscuit.

4 thoughts on “The End of NaNoWriMo: Farewell, O Muse

  1. Sarah says:

    I’ve always considered taking part in nanowrimo since when I write it’s in short bursts of manic energy. This August in the space of a month I hit 68k and then carried on past that and reached 90k, but it’d be nice to do it as part of a community. Are you part of any of the online writing communities like Inked In or Writers’ Cafe? I can’t seem to see very much of that on WordPress, which is a shame.
    Anyway, I saw your blog title “Don’t write until you’ve read” and I nodded my head off in agreement. So many people I know write but don’t seem to read. There isn’t a teenager here who reads more poetry than they write. STRANGE!

    • Proseia says:

      Hey! I need to check Inked In and Writer’s Cafe out, I suppose. I am technically a part of Griffin’s Quill, Book Country, and Authonomy, although I’ve been super lame about participation over the past few months. v_v

      And definitely give NaNo a shot. They have intermittent contests and challenges throughout the year, so there’s more than just November to look forward to.Thanks for reading! 🙂

Leave a Reply

