Oh, curry of mine…

You guys, I have the weirdest hang-up.

I’ve been realizing lately that I have a tendency to avoid the crap out of things I like. This was the case with boys I had a crush on during my young adult life–these days I just like to pretend that I’ve matured to the point that it totally wouldn’t still be the case if I were on the market right now–and I still find myself avoiding activities, books, movies,  and even foods that I think I might enjoy simply out of the fear of being stressed out or disappointed by them. I can have a very fragile ego at times, I’ll admit it: one failure, and I might just fall apart into a puddle of self-loathing.

But I’ve made a break-through.

The other night, after a day of eye-blazing hard focus on everything from my online shop startup to my social media work to my dirty dishes and back around to my fantasy novel, I was feeling so fearless that I whipped up a really delicious curry with just a couple of potatoes and an onion. I know, really valiant of me, yeah? I had looked around online for a simple curry recipe since I had never made it before despite having not just one, but two types of curry powder in my spice-bookcase (yes, I have a full bookcase in my kitchen designated for spices and herbs–it’s okay to be jelly) and found as it was cooking that I wanted to add and substitute some things.

Since it turned out so well, I’d like to share the amended version with you.

This is Phoebe’ s Curry, Y’all

Ingredients:

1 yellow onion, diced

1 clove garlic, minced

1/2 inch ginger, peeled and grated

butter (to taste)

2-3 small red potatoes

1/2 tblsp curry powder (I added a little more eventually – just feel it out)

1 cup chicken stock

crushed coriander, a few pinches

half-&-half or cream, to taste

cayenne, to taste

nutmeg, to taste

one cinnamon stick

allspice, to taste

celery seed, a few pinches

coconut flakes, a handful

Directions:

Saute onions, ginger, and garlic in butter til soft. Add potatoes and cook, adding spices as you stir. Add your stock and bring to a boil – reduce heat and cover, simmer about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. I took the cinnamon stick out after about 10-15 minutes of simmering to keep it from being too strong. Toss in your coconut toward the end of the 20 minutes and stir well. When the curry thickens, add cream til you reach the desired consistency and color: reminder, the cream is optional, so if you want to leave it out, you’ll still have a tasty curry as long as you don’t reduce it too much. Heat through and remove from the fire.

The whole thing takes about 30 minutes to do – I suggest jasmine or basmati rice for this one.

You nice folks enjoy your weekend. 🙂

Nomnom.

4 thoughts on “Oh, curry of mine…

  1. Ryan Holmes says:

    Fear of disappointment – oh no! This is not good in a writer. So many opinions out there you know. What you need is a strong spell of protection against the vile rejection letter monster lurking in the dungeons of Mailbox, guarding the Chest of Royalties and the Chalice of Acceptance.

    • Proseia says:

      I know, right? It’s a slippery slope, but in some ways it helps me stave off that worst trap for any creative person: assuming every little thing they make is proof of their own genius. I figure even if I worry a little my work and battle with some self-loathing, it’s better than chopping my potential career off at the knees by believing my stuff is better than it is.

      Still though, I should probably work on developing a thicker skin…along with that spell of protection. =P

Leave a Reply

