Inspirant of the Day: Renaissance Faire

To you, Baldrick, the Renaissance was just something that happened to other people, wasn’t it?

-Blackadder

Went to the Sherwood Forest Fair today with an old friend and did all the medieval things: I was fitted for a corset, went to juggling and falconry shows, partook of mead and crudely prepared meats, then topped it off with singing, dancing and hookah (the final three were at the courtesy of the fine musicians of Circa Paleo, for whose violinist I will forever hold a torch).

Renaissance themes always make me think of fantasy stories. My real introduction to medieval fantasy was, and I know I’m not alone here, the recently-departed Brian Jacques. His writing made a huge splash with YA fiction thanks to his lovable characters, touching vignettes, and of course all the fighting and feasting anyone could ask for–no one could describe food and drink like that man. Renaissance fairs remind me of my time with the Redwall series and even though sometimes there is not the highest level of historical accuracy in dress and behavior (the cheesy “Mi’Lord/Mi’Lady!” from bar wenches can be especially distracting if you’re not prepared for it), the sights and sounds and tastes always put me in the mood to write.

And now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to make good on it.

Enjoy this choice video of Circa Paleo and assorted pictures from the Sherwood Forest ren fair in the meanwhile.

4 thoughts on “Inspirant of the Day: Renaissance Faire

Leave a Reply

